Skip to content

Roads and Rain | Abbas Kiarostami

March 3, 2010

Last summer, Iranian film director Abbas Kiarostami exhibited a series of photographs titled “Roads and Rain” at London’s Purdy Hicks gallery. Self-taught photographer since the 1970’s and known best for his critically acclaimed films that contemplatively portray the life and landscapes of rural (and earthquake-devastated) Iran, he began exhibiting his photographic work in the 90s, having called it a “purer” medium than cinema. “The moment of the picture is one of personal truth, not of a story. I feel something in a landscape and want to capture it; only that moment is shown.” Here is a selection of shots from his London exhibition, via the Guardian.

Kiarostami chose the first picture (above) as his “best shot” for the Guardian’s My Best Shot series. He explains:

“During the revolution of 1979, it was impossible to make films, and I escaped from the city and found shelter in the countryside. I started making pictures, and they became like gifts to take back to people in the city. I could share the landscape with them through photography. I prefer the countryside to cities. This is also true of my films: I have made more films in rural societies, and villages, than in towns.”

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI RAIN (23) 2007

Rain (23), 2007

Admiring the effects of raindrops on the windshield of his car during his travels through rural landscapes, Kiarostami found in digital photography a much easier means of capturing this than through traditional film.

“So I took my car windscreen as a frame, and I turned off the windscreen wipers so as not to wipe off the rain – I wanted the raindrops to remain on the glass.”

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI RAIN (27) 2007

Rain (27), 2007

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS (33) 1989

Roads (33), 1989

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS (34) 1989 C PRINT

Roads (34), 1989

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS (44) 1989

Roads (44), 1989

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS (50) 1989

Roads (50), 1989

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS (79) 1989 C PRINT, Edition of 2. 58.7 X 90 CM

Roads (79), 1989

Abbas Kiarostami: ABBAS KIAROSTAMI ROADS 1989

Roads, 1989

“I drove with one hand on the wheel, and used my other hand to take pictures. But maybe I shouldn’t say that – I wouldn’t want to promote bad driving.”

Here’s an excerpt Abbas Kiarostami’s film 10 on Ten, in which talks about using a digital camera. via Refraction.

Kiarostami’s next film, Certified Copy, shot in Tuscany in French and English, will be his first feature to be filmed outside Iran.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 6:18 pm

    these are great.
    A fresh way to look at things

  2. Somnath Ghosh permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:07 pm

    looking, thinking & framing is simply great. thanks, poet of five.

Trackbacks

  1. Abbas Kiarostami on Digital Camera | cheapax.com

Leave a comment