Skip to content

London vu par Irene Kung

March 29, 2010

Photographer and painter Irene Kung was born in Switzerland in 1958. Her technique, modeled on Etruscan, Roman and Renaissance frescoes delicately describes the tension between classical civilization and the contemporary world. In the last two or three years she has expanded her repertoire to include photography and has made a dramatic entry into the field. Now, we’re going to visit London through Kung’s eyes:

Westminster Abbey, 2007 – D-print on rag paper 39.3” x 31.5“ (100 x 80 cm)

Lloyds Building, 2007 – D-print on rag paper 39.3” x 31.5“ (100 x 80 cm)

In an interview with Irene Kung by Ludovico Pratesi, they talked about these cities project (including London, Paris, New York and others). We can read:

L.P.: When you look over a city you intend to photograph, what criteria guide your eye?

I.K.: First of all I walk around the city without taking pictures. Walking, I feel the atmosphere of the city, I walk around the monuments, I observe the light. Usually there’s a moment when I get to feel the atmosphere of the city and its monuments. That is my starting point. Later on I decide at what time the light helps me to portray a monument the way I perceive it.

L.P.: What are the reasons behind your choice of subjects?

I.K.: The choice of subject is essential. A monument, a sculpture, the sea. Everything that surrounds us can inspire a pause for reflection, for meditation.

Millenium Bridge, 2007 – D-print on rag paper 39.3” x 39.3“ (100 x 100 cm)

Tower Bridge, 2007 – D-print on rag paper 39.3” x 39.3“ (100 x 100 cm)

More info about Kung’s work at her web-site. You can follow her on twitter at @IreneKung

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Bloomfield permalink
    April 4, 2010 11:28 am

    I saw some of these images in The Sunday Times magazine and was quite stunned by their beauty.
    Any one who can argue that there is no art in Photography, I feel , must be aesthetically dead.
    Photography has been my living for a good many years and I love to see the work of the really creative and inspired Photographers who somehow see outside the camera to produce work such as these lovely creations.

  2. April 28, 2010 4:41 pm

    I wonder how Irene achieves this stunning effect?
    The images work so well because they approach the structures from a completely unseen and fresh way, they are incredibly surprising and take the objects completely away from their surroundings, all focus is put on the subject. She is a pioneer of photography.

Leave a Reply

