Skip to content

Naked Push-ups Near Chinese Landmarks

February 17, 2010

Guangdong TV host Ou Zhihang has become somewhat of a sensation with his photographs of him doing naked push-ups in front of Chinese landmarks, including China’s National Stadium (a.k.a. “Bird’s Nest”), the National Grand Theater in Beijing, the Great Wall,  the CCTV Tower, Guangzhou CITIC Plaza. His unusual shots have even won him an honorable mention in the Contemporary Issues category of this year’s World Press Photo Contest. As I pondered over the possible meanings of his symbolic gesture, I read that he explained in his blog, “I love my country, I also love my body. I contrast my tiny body with the ‘miracle of the world’ through the popular exercise — pushup.” Hmm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

