Skip to content

David Maisel | The Mining Project: Black Maps

January 20, 2010

David Maisel studied architecture, landscape architecture, and photography at both Princeton University and the Harvard Graduate School of Design – before leaving the latter to pursue his photographic career full-time. He now lives in the Bay Area, and exhibits internationally. Maisel’s aerial images of environmentally impacted sites explore the aesthetics and politics of open pit mines, clear-cut forests, and other topics with equal measures of documentation and metaphor.

Maisel describes this work:

The work that I did in Maine, for instance, all came from the previous summer, when I had driven out west and done a lot of aerial work for the first time on my own. I was a year out of college. I did a tremendous amount of mining work – black and white mining work – and so in Maine I really had a project to chew over. That’s what I spent ten months printing in the dark room. At the end of that, when the ground had thawed, I actually did do some aerial work in Maine, of some clear-cut logging sites, so… You know, I was already researching and following through on sites – and, obviously, Maine isn’t the American west, but that scale was something common to my work both then and now.

More of David Maisel amazing photo work, at his web-site.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 5:22 pm

    these are incredible shots.
    There is a level of potency in all of these

Leave a Reply

